[ directions ]   [ subscriptions ]   [ secretary's reports ]   Sat Apr 29, 2017

  Home Page

1st XI team 2nd XI team 3rd XI team 4th XI team


Players' Meeting Notes

 Main Menu

March Town FB Page

Over 60s FB Page

News Flash

Hot bar food will once again be served on Saturday nights throughout the cricket season - starting April 15.


All the favourites of mixed grill, sausage and mash and ham, egg and chips will again be on the menu, which include vegetarian options.

Website Editor

Latest match news:


Back in the 'big time' they might be, but the 1st XI suffered a reality check at The Avenue on Saturday when Histon crushed them by 76 runs in the opening Whitings League Division 1 match of the season.

Newly promoted and with two sound warm-up performances under their belts, March came up short when it mattered. Having fought their way back in the field from 168-3 to dismiss the visitors for 214, they looked a good bet to go on to win. But an undistinguished batting display saw them shot out for 138 with 17.4 overs remaining!

Feel sorry for Matty Vail, who came into the side to take 5-19 with his slow left-armers, after Aussie Clinton Bricker had made the breakthrough with a quick three wicket burst. But Bricker couldn't match his bowling with the bat when he was dismissed caught and bowled first ball.

The Phillips' brothers finished top-scorers - skipper Tyler with 42 and the in-form Brandon with 38. Stuart Mills capped a fine all-round display with 27.

On a brighter note, March did picked up 12 bonus points and sit midway in the table.

Histon 214 all out, 49.2 overs (Matty Vail 5-19, Clinton Bricker 3-39, Stuart Mills 2-50),
March 1st XI 138 all out, 32.4 overs (Tyler Phillips 42, Brandon Phillips 38, Stuart Mills 27).


Sunday's 1st XI match at The Avenue was in stark contrast to the previous day's as 10-man visitors Ufford Park were put to the sword and the opening Rutland League Division 2 match of the season was over inside 42 overs.

The Ufford openers offered some resistance before Steve Coe's slow left-arm bowling saw them shot out for 95. Brandon Phillips (50no) and Nathan Oliver (31no) produced an unbeaten second wicket stand of 87 as the winning runs came off just 11.1 overs!

Ufford Park 95 all out, 30 overs (Steve Coe 4-19, Clinton Bricker 2-25, Spencer Saberton 1-13, Sam Clarke 1-37).
March 1st XI 96-1, 11.1 overs (Brandon Phillips 50no, Nathan Oliver 31no).


The Sunday 2nd XI lost out by four wickets in a low-scoring friendly match away to Wimblington.

March were shot out for 58 runs in just 18 overs, with Simon Bradshaw top-scoring with 19.

In reply, the hosts knocked off the runs for six wickets, with Dan Waltham taking 3-27.

March 2nd XI 58 all out, 18 overs (Simon Bradshaw 19), Wimblington 59-6, 17.5 overs (Dan Waltham




For full reports, click on the team links


Matty Vail opened the batting and took five wickets in the defeat against Histon.

Once again March Town Cricket Club is extremely grateful to Maxey Grounds & Co for its continued sponsorship.


Click here to see results & scorecards at play-cricket.com

March Town Cricket Club Pavilion

Welcome to MTCC

The Saturday 1st XI won the Tucker League Division 2 championship on the final day at Fordham, where club president Alan Day joined in the celebrations.

Club captain Tyler Phillips receives his Saturday 1st XI Player of the Year award from Tucker League chairman Keith Coburn.


Anyone wishing to hire the pavilion should ring the club on 01354 652029 and ask for pavilion manager Graham Smart.

The pavilion holds 100 people for parties and 60 for sit-down dinners at a cost of 75 plus VAT.

  Cricket Club Bar


1st XI team 2nd XI team 3rd XI team 4th XI team

 Main Menu

March Town FB Page

Over 60s FB Page

News Flash

This season's 3rd Xl and
4th  Xl home games, unless stated, will be played at Doddington Cricket Club's  Benwick Road Recreation Ground,
Benwick Road, Doddington, Cambs
PE15 0TY.

Cricket Club Officials:

President: Pat Ringham
Life members: Norman Alterton,
Fred Carter, Alan Day, Nick Lowe,
Les Mills, Mike Nelson, Mel Pooley,
Pat Ringham, Robert Sears,
Malcolm Southwell, Michael Wallis,
Stephen Wallis, John West, Alan Wilson.
Chairman: Les Mills
Vice-chairman: Graham Smart
Secretary: Stephen Wallis
Treasurer: Alan Day
Fixture secretary: Pat Ringham
Committee members: Bill Crumly,
Terry Hunt, Nick Lowe, Gary Nicholls, Nathan Oliver, Chris Ringham,
Harry Vaheesan, John West.


March & District Squash Rackets Club

Chairman: Chris Parsons


Secretary: Ady Powter


Treasurer: Andrea Alexander




Team Officials:

Club captain   Tyler Phillips
1st Xl vice captain (Sat) Andy Wright
1st XI captain (Sun) Andy Wright
1st XI vice
captain (Sun)
Brandon Phillips
2nd XI captain (Sat) Matty Vail
2nd XI vice captain (Sat) Sam Clarke
2nd Xl captain
Sam Mason
2nd Xl vice captain (Sun) Shae Pooley
3rd Xl captain Anthony Henson
3rd Xl vice
Manuj Patel
4th Xl  captain Simon Bradshaw
4th Xl vice
Emma Alterton


1st XI team 2nd XI team 3rd XI team 4th XI team


 Main Menu

March Town FB Page

Over 60s FB Page

News Item
Calling all members, players and parents - volunteer bar staff are required by the club this summer.

Mid-week evenings run from 8pm to 11pm.

Can you spare one night per month?


Sunday, February 12: St Valentine's Sunday lunch

Friday, May 5: Early season open evening with buffet

Friday, May 19: Race night

Friday, July 7: T20 match and barbeque

Friday, July 21: Junior presentation evening

Sunday, July 23: President's XI v Chairman's XI

Saturday, September 16: Aussie Night

Friday, September 23: Presentation evening

Saturday, October 28: Firework display

Sunday, November 19: Sunday lunch

Sunday, December 17: Christmas dinner



Our pool team plays every Tuesday, the two dominos teams play on Wednesdays and the three darts teams play on Fridays. Supporters always welcome.


Photos Module


1st XI team 2nd XI team 3rd XI team 4th XI team


 Main Menu

March Town FB Page

Over 60s FB Page

News Item



Pat Ringham 2009-17 all rights reserved

Web design by Chris Ley